My Bullet Journal

Image-1.jpg

This summer I discovered the greatness of bullet journaling!  I’m an organizer so the idea of creating my own agenda, planner, to-do list, etc. combo notebook is right up my alley!! I bought new pens, found a great notebook, read the official blog, and just started my bujo (“bullet journal”)!!

Before I dove in, I did a lot of research.  Pinterest, Instagram, and many blogs display the prettiest and most creative ways of journaling and at first it’s super intimidating!  At the beginning of my journaling, I tried to make the pages as creative and pretty as the ones I had seen on Instagram but that proved to be impractical for me.  I was spending more time decorating than I was actually organizing my thoughts and plans in order to get them done.  So by now I have resorted back to a simpler way of journaling.  I try to stick to basic lists and keep the decorating to just enough to inspire me to look at the page for what I need to get done.

IMG_8446.JPG

I’ve found that my bullet journal is most helpful in planning my blog content.  I use it to keep track of the content ideas I have, the posts coming up, and what I need to do to get posts completed.  However it has also been useful to keep track of running lists.

Supplies//

A notebook- Any notebook works, however I would recommend a Leuchtturm.  I use a blank one and it works beautifully.  The notebook’s pages are thick enough that pens don’t bleed through and it comes with these little inserts that have a grid and lines so you can stick them behind the page to keep your writing in line without the hinderance of lines you may or may not need on a certain page.

IMG_8452.JPG

Pens- I use Staedtler triplus fineliner pens and love them! I have a pack with a ton of different colors to keep my bujo colorful and fun!

A go-getter attitude!- A bujo only works if you utilize it!!

Typical Pages//

As you’ll read in any blog post about a bujo it won’t take long to discover there are a couple pages everyone needs in the notebook.

Table of Contents- The great thing about Leuchtturm notebooks is all the pages are already numbered and the notebook already has a blank table of contents so you don’t need to worry about setting up your own!  I like to only put things in the table of contents that I will want to come back to.  Daily to-do lists are not something I’m going to be looking back on weeks later.  To be completely honest, the table of contents is one of the hardest pages for me to keep up with.

IMG_8447.JPGKey- A key helps with task lists and helps keep the notebook consistent.

IMG_8448.JPG

Spreads- You’ll see talk of daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly spreads.  These can be laid out in whatever makes sense to you!  A spread I’ve started using that isn’t pictured below is a habit tracker.  You can look up “habit tracker” on Pinterest to get an idea of the sorts of things people include.  Super helpful!!  Pinterest can be great when you’re just starting out to give you some ideas of spreads for trial and error purposes until you discover what works for you!

IMG_8450.JPG

IMG_8449.JPG

IMG_8451.JPG

Bullet journaling can get super overwhelming when you look at how artsy some people make theirs but it doesn’t have to be scary!  A bullet journal at it’s core is a way for you to create the most functional notebook for you!  It can take some time getting used to, and it might not fit all your needs, but it can be worth it to try!  I still have an agenda and use my phone to keep important dates so my bujo basically helps me keep track of everything my agenda and my phone can’t.

Happy bullet journaling!!

xo Carolyn

 

2 thoughts on “My Bullet Journal

  1. Enjoyed this blog! I do some journaling of memories for my children and grandchildren. I have suggested the same to your Grams. I have kept a daily diary for 55 years. So I have the habit! Have a good year at college! Joy Davis

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

