Morning Routine

img_76bf651e76ce-1

Morning can be the best time of day for me, or the worst time.  It all depends on what I am able to accomplish.  Most of the time I would consider myself a morning person.  I try not to stay up too late doing homework and instead wake up earlier to get things done.  Most of my mornings go a little something like this…

Wake-up…I normally wake up between 6 and 6:30am.  Generally speaking, the earlier I wake-up, the better my hair ends up looking.

Devotional…I’ve been going through “The One Year New Testament” study which is a great way to start my day.  I always read an encouraging message and am able to start my day with God.

Hair…My hair can be a pain in the butt.  I always shower at night so the hair I wake up with in the morning can be a lost cause.  I have thick, wavy hair that is currently at a length where I can’t leave it down naturally otherwise no matter how much I brush it, it still looks like I left without brushing or doing anything to it.  Most of the time I end up straightening my hair which only takes about 10 minutes.

Makeup…Generally speaking, I go for the natural look.  I’m a firm believer in the power of mascara and lip gloss and leaving the rest up to nature.  I choose to put more work into my hair than my makeup which, until I start waking up earlier, I will have to continue doing.

Get Dressed…I try to pick out my clothes the night before, or at least be thinking about clothes so it isn’t a struggle to pick something out.  Of course I have days where I change my outfit three times and still leave for school not happy with the way I’m dressed, but that’s a topic for another time.

Eat Breakfast…Yes I am one of those people who would say breakfast is the most important meal of the day.  I do however have a distaste for breakfast foods so eating in the morning can be a struggle.  However it’s hard to go wrong with either a bagel or an english muffin or just a good fruit smoothie.

Leave…I try to be out of the house by 7:15 to beat the traffic getting into school.  I’m fortunate that it’s only about a six minute drive to school.

Mornings can either be the best time of day, or the worst.  There will surely be days when I roll out of bed five minutes before I have to be at my destination but hopefully those days don’t happen as frequently as productive ones.

xo Carolyn

 

2 thoughts on “Morning Routine

  1. Fun to visualize you going through all this routine! Don’t you miss Tilly being part of your morning routine–ha, ha. She is certainly part of ours now, a happy part!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

