My Latest Adventure: Disney World

image-1-1

Over Thanksgiving I had the opportunity to go to Walt Disney World in Orlando Florida with my whole extended family on my dad’s side.  Let me tell you, it was quite the experience.  While Cleveland was in the brisker temperatures, Florida was sunny and 80 degrees most of the time!  As much as I love fall and cooler weather, it was a nice change to be in the heat for a short time.  From the weather, to the rides, to the food the trip was amazing!  It’s a wonder I was able to come up with a list of just some of my favorite parts!

Number 1: Disney Springs at Night

IMG_6785.JPG

View from the dock

IMG_6789.JPG

On the boat to Disney Springs with my sister:)

On our last night at the resort (we stayed at Saratoga Springs), my family took a boat ride to Disney Springs (previously called “Downtown Disney”).  The ride was much better than taking the bus and looking across the water was absolutely gorgeous.  We ate at Bongos Cuban Cafe and it was delicious!!  As busy as Disney Springs was, the incredible new shops and great food made the trip over the river worth it!

Number 2: World Showcase at Epcot

 

IMG_6762.JPG

Buche de Noel (aka log of chocolaty goodness!) from the French bakery

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

Pizzeria in Italy with some of the greatest pizza I have ever had!

My brother says you should only go to Epcot when all the other parks are busy or closed but I strongly disagree!  I love Epcot mostly because of the World Showcase.  If you haven’t had the chance to experience it, you should!  Across a small body of water in the park, Disney has created a semi-circle of countries.  They have included Mexico, Norway, England, France, Italy, China, Germany, Japan, Morocco, Canada, and the United States.  Each country has food and shops special to the country they are based off of and I have to say the French pastries and Italian pizzas are two of the greatest things the park has to offer.

Number 3: Hollywood Studios

VSCO Cam-1.jpg

Storm Troopers in Hollywood Studios

One of my all time favorite parks, Hollywood Studios, did not disappoint.  The moment I walked in the gate, a swarm of Storm Troopers were patrolling, led by Darth Vader.  The little parade was incredible!  From then on, it was a great day!  We went to the Frozen sing-along and ate at the amazingly tasty Prime Time Cafe!  The best part about  Hollywood Studios is definitely the atmosphere.  The park is decked out old fashioned, making it a fun place to just walk around!

Number 4: Magic Kingdom at Night

vsco-cam-1-2

The gorgeous Cinderella castle at night

The epitome of Disney World, the Cinderella Castle is even more beautiful and magnificent  all lit up at night.  The view is absolutely stunning and causes a sense of awe in everyone within eyeshot.  Seeing the castle during the day is one thing, and quite another at night.  I would recommend going to see the castle at night and then leaving before the parade ends so you don’t get caught in the mass of people trying to leave the park (like how I got caught).

Number 5: Diagon Alley

VSCO Cam-1-1.jpg

Dragon clinging to Gringotts Bank (it will occasionally blow fire)

Yes, I am a Potterhead and proud!  I absolutely LOVED going to Diagon Alley in Universal Studios so much that I am putting it on my post about Disney.  A few years ago I had been to the Hogsmeade they have created but was absolutely blown away when I stepped into this other quintessential area of the Harry Potter world.  Of course it was busy, but the business was unimportant compared to the environment.  I felt like a Harry Potter character!  Even if you are not the biggest Harry Potter fan, I would still recommend going!  It was so fun to see the world and to see all the workers playing along.

All in all, I had an AMAZING time in Disney World and Universal Studios!  It doesn’t matter how old you are, you can still feel the magic of the parks!

Comment some of your favorite things to do in Disney World!  I would love to have some more ideas before I go back!

xo Carolyn

2 thoughts on “My Latest Adventure: Disney World

Leave a Reply

